Forest Sector Strategy Committee


This committee consisted of 28 participants, including the Minister of Forests, 7 Deputy Ministers, the CEO’s and/or Presidents of ten forest sector companies, the Presidents of the IWA, CEP, and PPWC and senior representatives drawn from the aboriginal community, the conservation/environmental community, the coastal and interior logging sector, the university and research community and municipal government. The consensus recommendations of the process had a significant role in the creation and development of the Forest Renewal Plan and other public policy initiatives impacting the forest sector in the mid 1990’s.